NXNE Festival in Toronto

Back into the swing of things…  The show was pretty awesome!  I can’t remember a BR show at a festival being an hour and a half in length.

I left New Jersey with two of my friends Wednesday night at about 10:30 p.m, only making 2 short stops to stretch and get something to drink.  We arrived at the Canadian Border at about 6:30 a.m.  but nothing was open yet (I am spoiled I guess).  After waiting for a Tim Horton’s to open we decided to stay at Niagara Falls for a while and catch the sights.  Some guy was preparing a tightrope walk across the falls the next day, and tech crews / news trucks were out and about.  We did the Maid of the Mist tour, and this was one of the funnest and cheap things you can do if you’re in the area.  Just prepare yourself to get soaked!

Finally we head up to Toronto to check in our hotel.  If you are looking for a decent hotel for one person (there were three of us) stay at the Bond Place Hotel… it’s just a few blocks from Yonge Dundas Square, which was where the show took place.  We met up with a few fellow BR fans from Detroit and had lunch at the Hard Rock Cafe across the street from the venue.  I also managed to catch a Blue Jays baseball game the next day, as well as see expansive views of the city from the CN tower.  All in all a great couple of days.  Stand out songs from this particular BR set were “Them and Us”, “Sanity”, and one of my favorites “The Defense” which is the first time I think I’ve heard this live.  I’ve posted links to our videos of the show below, and we hope you enjoy watching them (as much as we enjoyed being there!)

Bad Religion have shows coming up in Los Angeles on 8/18 and Quebec on 8/25. I am tempted to go to Quebec but finding a job is probably higher on the priority list!  Thanks to my friends who came up with me to the show, as well as my friends from the BR Page who I met up with before and after the show.  You guys are awesome. As far as the next podcast, well… with the heatwave hitting the area I’ll probably be avoiding the outdoors so maybe we can squeeze one out within the next week.  The new Offspring CD “Days Go By” has been released.  Also, just got back from seeing Face to Face’s acoustic set of the Ignorance is Bliss album, so there’s plenty to talk about.

Until the next show…

Leave a comment